OfficeBooks

Tier 1 · Verified facts

Owned by OfficeBooks. A vendor may propose a correction to a fact — never to a score or a rank.

Sophos Home Review 2026: Home antivirus for up to 10 Windows and Mac PCs, managed online

Antivirus & Security Suites · Security & VPN

Verified · vs buy.home.sophos.com/1461/purl-homepremium
Watch price

Free. Nobody pays for this alert, and we send nothing until you confirm.

Price from
$44.99/yr prepaid multi-month term Vendor: “from $44.99/yr (1-yr) · 30-day trial”
Free plan
Not available The vendor's wording does not say whether a lasting free plan exists (a trial is not a free plan).
OfficeBooks score
3.7 / 5 our editorial opinion How we score
G2
Not available Not in our review data. We show a G2 score only after reading it on a profile with 10 or more reviews.
Trustpilot
Not available Not in our review data. We show a Trustpilot score only after reading it on a profile with 10 or more reviews.
Last price change
Not available No change recorded since the first reading we hold (10 Sep 2026).

Pricing verified 10 Sep 2026 · always confirm the current offer on the vendor’s site.

We verify

List prices and plan names as written, whether a lasting free plan exists, the billing unit where the vendor states it, third-party scores with 10+ reviews, and the page and date we read them.

We do not verify

Negotiated discounts, regional prices and taxes, anything behind a sales call, how well features work (we read documentation; we do not test), uptime, support or security. Opinions on those live in Tier 2.

Sophos Home plans, in the vendor's words

PlanPriceIncluded
Free 30-day Trial$0Up to 3 devices, all Premium features for 30 days, no credit card required
Premium – 1 Year$44.99List price $59.99; up to 10 Windows/Mac computers plus unlimited iOS/Android
Premium – 2 YearsPOPULAR$74.99List price $99.99; same feature set
Premium – 3 Years$104.99List price $139.99; same feature set
Commercial Use Edition$0 for Sophos business customersFree version of Premium with knowledge-base support, up to 10 computers

Price history · every reading logged

We hold one reading of this price, so there is no history to chart yet. We will not draw a curve from fewer than two points.

All readings (1)
Every reading we hold of Sophos Home's listed price
DateResultRead on
First reading we hold: “from $44.99/yr (1-yr) · 30-day trial” buy.home.sophos.com

In the same category · prices, each dated, side by side

Open all three in a Decision Room

Sources read: buy.home.sophos.com/1461/purl-homepremium, home.sophos.com/en-us, support.home.sophos.com/hc/en-us/articles/115005457983-General-FAQ, support.home.sophos.com/hc/en-us/articles/360042537352-Sophos-Home-features, home.sophos.com/en-us/landing/commercial-use, sophos.com/en-us/press/press-releases/2020/03/sophos-announces-completion-of-take-private-acquisition-by-thoma-bravo, sophos.com/en-us/company, cloudwards.net/sophos-home-review (last read ).

How these numbers are verified

  1. We open Sophos Home's own pricing page, buy.home.sophos.com/1461/purl-homepremium, and record prices, plan names and the free plan as written, with the date.
  2. A vendor's correction or a reader's report changes nothing until an editor has checked it.
  3. Scores and rankings are editorial: vendors cannot buy them or correct them.
  4. After 30 days without a new reading, this page stops calling the facts verified (the page is rebuilt daily).
Read the full methodology

Verification log

Full log
  • First reading we hold

Are you Sophos Home?

Propose a correction to a price, free plan or billing unit, with evidence from your own site. An editor reads it before anything changes; a correction never touches a score or a rank.

Open the vendor portal
Spotted a wrong number?Report it

Tier 2 · Voices (opinions)

Written by people. Signed, dated, and kept apart from the facts above.

Who writes what on this page: each source, who writes it, their incentive, and what OfficeBooks checks
SourceWho writes itTheir incentiveChecked by OfficeBooks?
Editor's verdict and reviewOfficeBooks research desk. Desk research from documentation; no hands-on test.A commission only on links to partner programmes, disclosed beside the link. It never changes a score. Yes · It is ours: every figure in it comes from the sources listed.
Creator stacksIndependent creators, named on every takeWhatever each creator declares on each take: none, a commission, sponsorship or employment. OfficeBooks credits them with the clicks and demo bookings they refer. Partly · The facts beside their take, read live. Not their opinion; an editor reviews each stack before it is listed.
G2 and Trustpilot ratingsThose platforms' reviewersSet by each platform. Some invite or reward reviews. Partly · Only the score and review count, on the date shown. We do not vet the reviews.
Sponsored slotThe vendor who booked itPaid placement. No · The copy is the vendor's. Labelled "Sponsored · not ranked"; never in a table, score, shortlist or search result.
Verified facts (Tier 1)OfficeBooks research deskNone. Vendors cannot pay to change a fact, a score or a rank. Yes · On the vendor's own pages where it publishes them, otherwise on the sources listed; always with the date.

Editor's verdict

updated

“Sophos Home is a straightforward antivirus for households with a lot of Windows and Mac machines, and the remote dashboard is the reason to pick it over single-PC products. The trade-off is that several of its stronger features are Windows only, the renewal price is not disclosed, and the vendor pages cite no recent independent lab results. Take the 30-day trial first, then buy a multi-year term if it suits you.”

Best for

  • Households with several Windows and Mac computers
  • Managing relatives’ PCs from a web dashboard
  • Parents who want web filtering built in

Watch out for

  • Predictive AI Threat Detection, Advanced Malware Scan and Clean and AMSI integration are Windows only
  • 10-computer cap per account, and buying more licences does not raise it; a second account cannot be combined with the first
Read the full review

Creator stacks featuring Sophos Home

All stacks

Are you a creator who uses Sophos Home?

Publish your stack: your take, next to these verified facts. We credit the clicks and demo bookings you refer.

Create a stack

Creator takes belong to their authors and are not verified by OfficeBooks; each creator declares their tie to the vendor on every take. OfficeBooks earns a commission only on links to partner programmes, disclosed beside each link. None of this changes Tier 1.

The full review

Sophos Home website, captured by screenshot service

What it is

Sophos Home is the consumer edition of Sophos Ltd’s security software, sold as a single Premium plan for Windows and Mac. One account covers up to 10 computers, and the Real-Time Antivirus, Ransomware Security, Web Protection and Parental Website Filtering are all managed from a web dashboard rather than on each machine. Phones and tablets are covered separately by the Intercept X for Mobile app, which does not show up in that dashboard.

The feature set is not identical across platforms. Predictive AI Threat Detection, Advanced Malware Scan and Clean and AMSI integration are marked as Windows only in the vendor’s feature table, so Mac users get a smaller product for the same price. There is no Linux version, and the licence is for private, personal and non-commercial use only. Premium support is by live chat and email on weekdays during US Eastern business hours, with a chatbot and knowledge base available at other times.

What it costs in practice

The home page shows no prices; they appear only on the Cleverbridge store, which localises by region and adds tax to the cart. At the time of checking, 1, 2 and 3-year terms were $44.99, $74.99 and $104.99 respectively, each shown against a struck-through list price under a ’Save 25%’ banner. The 3-year term works out cheapest per year. After the term ends the subscription renews at ’the then current renewal price’, with an email 30 days in advance; no renewal figure is published.

There is no permanent free plan. The 30-day trial gives all Premium features on up to 3 devices with no credit card, and a 30-day money-back guarantee applies to purchases. Organisations that are already Sophos customers can get a free Commercial Use Edition for up to 10 computers. Independent testing is thin: the Sophos Home pages cite none, and the lab results quoted by Cloudwards date from 2016 and 2017.

Strengths

  • One plan covers up to 10 Windows and Mac computers plus unlimited iOS and Android devices
  • 30-day free trial for 3 devices with no credit card, plus a 30-day money-back guarantee
  • Web dashboard lets you manage every covered computer remotely
  • Longer terms cut the cost: 3 years for $104.99 against a $139.99 list price

Watch out for

  • Predictive AI Threat Detection, Advanced Malware Scan and Clean and AMSI integration are Windows only
  • 10-computer cap per account, and buying more licences does not raise it; a second account cannot be combined with the first
  • No Linux support; mobile devices use a separate app and do not appear in the Sophos Home dashboard
  • Renews at an unstated ’then current’ price, and live support runs only Monday to Friday, 9am to 7pm US Eastern

Key features

FeatureWhat it does
Real-Time AntivirusProtection against viruses, malware, trojans, bots and PUAs on Windows and Mac
Ransomware SecurityStops ransomware from encrypting files and drives (3GB of disk space required)
Web and Banking ProtectionBlocks compromised or dangerous websites, phishing sites and browser-in-the-middle attacks
Remote ManagementSecure multiple devices in any location via a web interface, up to 10 per account

How Sophos Home compares

AlternativeHow it differs
BitdefenderConsumer antivirus suite frequently compared with Sophos Home in independent reviews
Norton 360Bundles a firewall, VPN and password manager, which Sophos Home’s feature list does not include
MalwarebytesMulti-device consumer anti-malware with comparable device caps

Frequently asked questions

How much does Sophos Home cost?

Sophos Home Premium is $44.99 for the first year, $74.99 for two years or $104.99 for three years, each shown against a higher list price ($59.99, $99.99 and $139.99). The store adds local tax at checkout, and the subscription renews at the then-current price, which the store does not state. A 30-day trial and a 30-day money-back guarantee are available.

How many devices does Sophos Home cover?

Each Premium account protects up to 10 Windows and Mac computers, plus an unlimited number of iOS and Android phones and tablets through the separate Intercept X for Mobile app. The 10-computer limit is fixed per account; buying extra licences does not increase it, so a larger household needs a second account under a different email address.

Sophos Home ratings on other platforms

Independent user ratings from third-party review sites, linked here for transparency. These are not our editorial score, are captured on the date shown, and may have changed since.

Tier 3 · Actions

Four ways to act on what you just read. Each one says who pays.

Add to a Decision Room

Compare up to 4 tools with your team: verified prices side by side, your seats and budget, and notes and votes only your team sees.

Free. Nobody pays for rooms, and vendors never see their notes or votes.

Book a demo

Sophos Home's own site: home.sophos.com

Plain link: we earn nothing from it.

Verified deal

Save 25%

Verified · no end date in our data

Part of our review, and dated.

Email me when this price changes

Free. Nobody pays for this alert, and we send nothing until you confirm.

Visit Sophos Home

Plain link: we earn nothing from it.

Embed this card

Preview

Free. Creators add data-ref with the referral id from their creator page to be credited for the clicks they send. The card updates when we re-verify and never changes a score.

Sophos Home
Our rating 3.7/5 · from $44.99/yr (1-yr) · 30-day trial
Visit